Guidelines
Bug description
I only found this thread without any answer: https://community.signalusers.org/t/bug-group-updates-dont-respect-disappearing-messages-rules/76058
On both Signal Desktop and Android platforms, when a group are configured with disappearing messages, all group updates messages persist after the auto-removal delay (X added you to the group, X joined the group via the group link, X made Y an admin etc).
It is annoying for several reasons:
- by auto-removing old messages, we can legitimely suppose ALL information will be unavailable after the delay, even those meta-data
- all nickname changes are logged indefinitely on all groups (
A changed their profile name to A-bis)
- if someone added my account A on a group but I want to switch to another account B that I need to be unrelated,
A added B to the group/A left the group will always be visible on all the group members devices, so any look on a phone can create a correlation between A and B accounts
Expected result
Once the disappearing messages setting has been configured, all group updates on all devices should be removed after the time disappeared.
On the best case, the current update messages on all groups might be removed, or an option under Parameters > Chats > Control message deletion could remove all those meta-data more easily.
Screenshots
No response
Device
No response
Android version
17
Signal version
8.23.3
Link to debug log
No response
Guidelines
Bug description
On both Signal Desktop and Android platforms, when a group are configured with disappearing messages, all group updates messages persist after the auto-removal delay (
X added you to the group,X joined the group via the group link,X made Y an adminetc).It is annoying for several reasons:
A changed their profile name to A-bis)A added B to the group/A left the groupwill always be visible on all the group members devices, so any look on a phone can create a correlation between A and B accountsExpected result
Once the disappearing messages setting has been configured, all group updates on all devices should be removed after the time disappeared.
On the best case, the current update messages on all groups might be removed, or an option under
Parameters > Chats > Control message deletioncould remove all those meta-data more easily.Screenshots
No response
Device
No response
Android version
17
Signal version
8.23.3
Link to debug log
No response